I Want to Live Life, Without Feeling Trapped

Having a case of the Sunday night blues tonight. Happens every night lately before the start of a new week. I love my freedom during the days on weekends. To enjoy the sunshine when I want, to read a book, to bake, to enjoy being human and alive and with others and the people who I love.

This current job I’m at now, while there are some decent people, I feel like everyone is so bored with life there. They are so bored and tired of the next day, of a job that keeps going with no end, of a retirement that is still eight years down the road.

It’s had me thinking a lot about what I want out of life, lately. I don’t want to work in a job where my life is taken from me. I want freedom…I want to travel…I want to live.

People judge millennials because we don’t want to work. But people forget many of us are not working in the job we went to school for. We don’t get money because we are doing what we love. We get money because we work at jobs, (very often) that no one else wants to work at.

I’m no slacker. I’ve worked a myriad of jobs to make money to pay the bills and I’ve been miserable at many of them, but I worked them anyway. Where does it say that we have to be miserable to make money?

People say that you should work hard, stay at a job, get retirement, but the sacrifice of life, freedom, and lack of money just doesn’t seem worth it anymore. Forgive me, but, I am no one else’s money-maker.

I want to live my life, without feeling like I’m trapped in my job. Is that really so much to ask?

2 thoughts on “I Want to Live Life, Without Feeling Trapped

  1. No, it’s not too much to ask. My husband stayed at his stressful job for too many years. It affected him in a big way – and not in a good way. He should have left that job years ago when he could have found something that was easier on him and more enjoyable.

    I was once offered two jobs. One was high paying with great benefits; the other was minimum wage with no benefits. I took the minimum wage job, because I knew I would enjoy it. As it turned out, I worked my way up and became one of the top five executives in the company. The other job? A friend of mine took it and couldn’t handle the stress. She quit after six months.

    Take your time and keep checking what’s available. Something that’s perfect for you will come along. Be brave then and go for it!

Let me know what you think!

