Poem: We Who Are Human; I Wonder

Good morning WordPress readers! I am up and around earlier on a Saturday because I have a friend coming to visit me! 🙂

I found this poem while I was cleaning up around the place this morning. I wrote it sometime last week and forgot all about it. I’m not sure if it’s quite finished, but I wanted to share.

Hope everyone is having a great weekend so far!

 

We who are human

who walk with eyes

we tell jokes

and crippling lies

 

What makes us, ‘us’

why do we stand?

why do we sing?

or walk on land?

 

To be human:

to know how to cry

to travel the earth

and live under sky

 

I wonder if somewhere

the trees are blue

another group walks

by names of ‘me’ or ‘you’

 

they look at the sky

and wonder out loud

if beyond the sky

above the clouds

 

there lives someone else

in the great unknown

so different from theirs

another place called ‘home.’

 

Let me know what you think!

