Poem: Be Aggressive

it’s not in my nature

to be aggressive

I am shy

I am compassionate

I am that friend to listen

to lean on

you tell me your weaknesses

I don’t pounce

or take advantage

It’s not in me to manipulate

 

But when it comes to a job

employers want the assholes,

the people who go out of their way

to be the know-it-alls

the spiders and snakes in this world

 

they don’t hire the mice,

the things to be trodden underfoot

 

they don’t know that underneath this timidness

is a loyalty

which surpasses

everything they’ve ever dreamed of

a finality

a getting things done

But

I am that smoldering lake of lava, slowly simmering

But I pack a punch in a big way.

Let me know what you think!

