Do You Use a Novel Writing Software?

home-office-336377_1920Was having a thought the other night…maybe I should start using a novel-writing software to help organize this story I’ve been working on lately.

Googled some last night and got a few ideas, but I have no idea which one to choose. There are a few online options:Β Litlift and Novlr. But not sure those would work for me.

I downloaded a free program called ywriter5 last night and it doesn’t take .docx files and that won’t work considering I write in Microsoft word.

Just need something to help organize my thoughts.

Any suggestions? Do you guys use one?

14 thoughts on “Do You Use a Novel Writing Software?

  1. I should also add that looking for THE PERFECT WRITING SOFTWARE was once my preferred means of procrastinating. Even Scrivener didn’t save me from that… but it DOES help me organise things.

    • I’ll have to give it another try. I think I tried it before but couldn’t get the hang of it, but that was ages ago. You are right though, even with the perfect writing software, it doesn’t mean I’ll actually get the words down on the page like I want them πŸ˜‰

  2. I used Novlr for a while when I started writing my book using their 30 day free trial. Initially I absolutely loved it. It had some brilliant features. It gives you two versions of the word count, actual words written and total words written. The actual words written counts the words you write and then delete as well so it’s accurately showing how many words you physically wrote down that day. The only problem I found was that there were often times when I couldn’t access the server and I started having to save my work in Word and OneDrive too. It got so bad that I didn’t pay once my trial ended and now I stick to Word and OneDrive. Let me know if you find something perfect!

  3. Pingback: Outlining your Novel – Blissful Scribbles

  4. Pingback: Outlining your Novel β€” Blissful Scribbles | Arrowhead Freelance and Publishing

Let me know what you think!

