A Lesson in Peach-Eating From J. Alfred Prufrock

peach-863349_1920I bought peaches the other day. And every time I think of eating one, lately, I can’t help but think of that poem by T.S. Eliot, “The Love Song of J. Alfred Prufrock.”

If you don’t know the poem I am referring to, I found it here on this website. Most of my English teachers throughout the school years had us read the poem.

Mostly because of its evocative language. You can tell the way the narrator feels by the certain words he uses. The poor guy really does paint a sad picture. Anyway, the peach eating.

In the poem, the narrator questions:

“Do I dare to eat a peach?
I shall wear white flannel trousers, and walk upon the beach.
I have heard the mermaids singing, each to each.
I do not think that they will sing to me.” (T.S. Eliot)

What is up with this peach eating business?

Well…peaches are messy. If you are going to eat one and have the juice drip down your chin and elbow, you better do it with confidence. Especially if you are wearing white trousers.

But all I can think about is how sad the speaker sounds. He describes himself as something scuttling across the floor in some dark, deep, sea. A bottom feeder?

Poor J. Alfred Prufrock. He doesn’t think very well of himself…

And neither have I lately. That’s probably why I keep thinking of this poem.

But enough of that.

I ate a peach tonight for dessert actually, and it was fabulous.

I sometimes think I am the only one who actually liked reading this poem when they made us dissect it in school.

What do you guys think?

Let me know what you think!

