Poem: Rainy Sunday Afternoon

img_20160821_142149893.jpg

I like the sound of rain on a Sunday afternoon

I like the way it falls, the way it sounds

the look of green, the slick streets

The pattering sound when it hits the ground

Me in my pjs, cartoons in the background

Like someone stroking my hair

after a long bath in suds and warm water

Today, the darkness won’t bother me

today, I will conquer the dark and the sadness

with comforting thoughts of trees filled with raindrops

heavy with water, drooped so low over the ground

This should be their attitude of sadness

this should be proof that the universe is low

but instead, I think of it as trees bowing

to the universe in reverence

the earth is crying

and this is their moment of silence

Let me know what you think!

