Poem: Deep Thoughts

Looking for inspiration
I turn to God
“Why did you build the stars?”
Mike hears and says, “Years, babe.
Years and years.”
I turn to science then,
“Let’s go to Mars!”
Mike hears
“It’s too far,”
he says. “Too far.”

I think about how round the sun is
How it burns with that blazing yellow
How there are patterns in a turtle’s shell
That weren’t there when it was born

How there is space junk swirling around earth
Like that ball and string on a pole
Waiting to smack you in the face

“Why is the earth round?”
Mike looks at the ground
At me, all around, and gestures
“To contain all of this.”

And I snuggle in close and smile.

Let me know what you think!

