Poem: Blue Bird Welcomes the Spring

It has been a busy month this December, and while Christmas came and went with a blur, I wish winter would, too!

Although, we haven’t had very bad weather this winter (thank goodness,) but I am more than ready to get on with summer, and green grass, and all the great things that have to do with summer.

Haven’t been up to much lately, either. We’ve gone to see the new Star Wars a few times already, and if you missed my rant about my silly obsession with all random things Star Wars, you can check it out here.

I wrote this poem for my mom for Christmas this year. I did it up in a new picture frame forย  her, which I forgot to take a picture of, but I hope you guys like it. I wrote about a blue bird, and Mom loves birds, so it seemed to work very well. ๐Ÿ™‚ Happy Holidays everyone!

Blue Bird Welcomes the Spring

eastern_bluebird_glamor

Blue bird sits under an old, oak tree,

his head tipped back towards the sky.

He puffs out his orange-red breast,

just one last song before he flies.

 

Cardinals join his herald of spring;

the blue jays, too and chickadees.

Chattering squirrels chase and climb;

a cat blinks lazily beneath the trees.

 

Old snow melts, and drops and drips,

the trees try to shake off winter’s chill.

Blue bird watches, and waits, and sits;

the air is fresh, the earth is still.

 

The winter was cold, harsh, and long;

a woman shovels a snowy drive.

She welcomes the cheerful bird-song,

she loves the sound of feeling alive.

 

Feet away, under an old oak tree,

blue bird sits, and watches, and waits.

Sunlight touches his breast and beak,

he shakes his wings of one last snowflake.

2 thoughts on “Poem: Blue Bird Welcomes the Spring

    • You are welcome and thank you for following mine and for the likes! I like what you have to say about writing the first draft and editing, I need all the help I can get, that’s for sure! I hope you are able to get your novel published. ๐Ÿ™‚

Let me know what you think!

