My Star Wars Obsession and Spoiler Anxiety, (it’s a real thing, people)

Note: there are no movie spoilers in this, just my silly ramblings about how much of a nerd I am.

I’m sure many of you aren’t aware, but there is a brand new Star Wars out there for your viewing pleasure, and I don’t think enough people are going to see it…I mean, seriously, I think this one is going to flop, people.

tfa_poster_wide_header-1536x864-959818851016 (Laughs). Yeah, right.

Star Wars is everywhere! It was on the sign of our local carpet store when we drove by today; ‘may the floor be with you?’ Seriously?

It was on the Outback-ad I saw a few minutes ago on Facebook; which featured steaks flying at a look-alike Death Star made out of sweet potato.

Last night, it was on the google website when you searched: dare to choose the dark or light side?

img_20151210_133756320.jpgDon’t forget the merchandise: band-aids, toys, coloring books, T-shirts, plushies, mugs, silverware, and ornaments. Star Wars has permeated every corner of our personal galaxy and I’m not sure I was entirely prepared for it.

Originally, Mike and I decided that we would go see Star Wars in I-Max. But, we couldn’t get tickets for opening weekend, so we decided to go the day after Christmas. We wouldn’t have to stand in those long premiere lines, we’d miss the crazy rush, and I was okay with this.

That is…until Star Wars came out yesterday.

Suddenly, Facebook was bombarded with potential spoilers, and I was starting to feel frightened of the people at my work. I heard the words “Star Wars” and I practically ran out of the break room.

Spoilers are something I hate when it comes to any film, but the idea that the surprises in this new movie might get ruined for me, filled me with a new brand of anxiety I didn’t expect.

I had misjudged the hype. Why didn’t I think of this before? Why had I decided to wait? Was I stupid, or something?

I got Star Wars Spoiler anxiety!

I did. Suddenly a week waiting for I-Max felt like years. Was I to assume that I wouldn’t accidentally stumble on a spoiler on google? Or overhear someone in the check out line at the grocery store?  I became nervous, unsettled, and paranoid. I didn’t get on Facebook for a few days.

IMG_20141222_204521260

My R2-D2 plushy. He sits loyally on my desk and guards my laptop from any potential thieves.

I know Star Wars is just a movie, (although part of me dies when I say that), I know there are more important things in the world to worry about…but the fact that I got anxious worrying about Star Wars spoilers is kind of hilarious.

Well, all that got resolved this morning, because Mike and I decided that we would nip the anxiety in the bud, and we went 10am this morning to see Star Wars: The Force Awakens and we loved it. I stretched out on the newly renovated recliner chairs and munched on Cheerios like popcorn.

Really, I told Mike that we were forced to see it, because we were worried about spoilers, and then I laughed like the nerd I am at my accidental pun. Har, har, har. I know, I’m such a dork.

But that brings me to another thing.

My Star Wars spoiler anxiety might have something to do with the Star Wars obsession I’ve developed over the past few months.

It seems like the more silly the merchandise, the more I must have it. I’ve got Star Wars wrapping paper to wrap my presents with this year. I found crayons with colors in it like: outer space, deep space sparkle, tumbleweed, shadow and cadet blue.

I found Star Wars duct tape, (this I reasoned was for projects for gifts, but lets face it, I bought it for myself.)

img_20151213_191720256.jpgI also found a holiday count-down chalk board; I later crossed out holiday and wrote “Star Wars” at the top. Then of course with all this, that doesn’t include the stuffed R2-D2 on my desk, my t-shirts, and posters.

IMG_20151114_203000829IMG_20151114_203017973Did I forget to mention, I ate Star Wars chicken noodle soup for dinner tonight?

Are you guys as obsessed with Star Wars as I am right now? (And please no spoilers if you choose to comment, lets save that for the review I’ll probably post in a few days.)

Happy Weekend, everyone!

One thought on “My Star Wars Obsession and Spoiler Anxiety, (it’s a real thing, people)

  1. Pingback: Poem: Blue Bird Welcomes the Spring | The Writer's Hub

Let me know what you think!

