NaNoWriMo Days 4, 5 & 6: Uh, Still Writing?

Word Count: 4,107

Well…totally dropped the ball on my last post. Last night was supposed to be a lovely update with how fantastic I’m doing, and well…life happens sometimes.

It’s difficult balancing writing, work, and other chores that most of us don’t like doing but needs to be done…(laundry, dishes, etc.) Last night was one big trip to the laundromat which was good, because clean clothes are nice…buut, it doesn’t always leave time to do writing, which is bad.

I find that my core time for writing is at night-time, but I work early in the morning, and well…6am comes very fast sometimes. Ugh, Work.

Work.

Which, was awful. As far as Fridays go…yuck! I could practically see the tire marks of everyone’s cars as we pealed out of that parking garage…now I get why people always drive crazy on Fridays. I wonder if people who hate their jobs on top of having a bad day, actually pull their hair out? Like big clumps? Seriously, people. I just want to forget that today happened. At all.

io

Tonight was nice, though. Mike made dinner and we watched Inside Out which I just had to buy the other day. I love this movie. Hmm, maybe I’ll write-up a review of that tomorrow…

Anyway, the point is: Life

How do you manage to juggle work, family, friends, social time and writing? I think I read somewhere that in order to be completely successful in one aspect of your life, you have to give up another. Like someone who becomes work-obsessed…might let social time with friends fall to the way-side.

But, I’m like Joy on Inside Out, who doesn’t want Riley’s memories to fade, I don’t want any aspect of my life to fade. Heck, I could give up housework. I’d be happy with that. Buut, having clean dishes is important, too.

I guess the idea is to sort out your priorities. I think I could give up TV more, and Facebook time. I love keeping up with old college buddies and family on there, but once a day check-up is all I should really need for the time being.

And Youtube…sometimes (too many times), productive hours are taken when the YouTube vidoes suck you in. I know I can gain more time by giving up that.

Hmm…it sure is difficult working on writing when you work full-time hours, and I am forever in awe of those who’ve managed to write a best seller on their down time after work.

More often than not, I feel like sadness, who has that kind of energy?

But, there is a silver lining here, too. I’ve got the weekend! And I look forward to catching up on my writing tomorrow after some rest and relaxation. Oh, sleep would definitely be nice!

Anyway else always feel so drained when Friday comes around? I think its possible I need more Vitamin D and C, and B, and H and L…and yeah. Everything. Back to that grindstone…

How do you guys make time for writing?

Happy Writing everyone!

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Days 4, 5 & 6: Uh, Still Writing?

  1. I think I am most energetic on Fridays. Knowing that I can be with the people I love without having to think about returning to work in the morning pushes me through the day. And the thought of my boyfriend’s hugs and kisses make me smile.
    I think the days I want to rip my hair out are the ones at the start of the work week. On those days, I think, “I’ve got another week full of this?!” But each weekend comes faster than I think it will, and everything works out in the end.

    As for writing time, I don’t make any. That’s part of the reason I started up my blog; I would have readers who were waiting, so I would HAVE to write. (I can’t stand letting people down. It’s actually a fairly big personality flaw…) Most days, I just put whatever I can on the page and tell myself it’s better than nothing. But writing for the blog has given me some gems, I think. And I’m seeing patterns in my writing very clearly now, too.

    • That’s great 🙂 and congrats on the blog! I was actually thinking about that too…how great a blog can be to get back in the habit of writing everyday, or to just make sure you are still writing. When I first started my blog I couldn’t see it, but now, the thoughts come a lot easier.
      I hear ya about Mondays! Mondays are the worst. Ugh.
      You are right though, the weekends have definitely become like mini vacations for me. TGIF! 🙂

Let me know what you think!

