The Force Awakens New Trailer Review and Thoughts

I watched this new Force Awakens trailer with Mike (the other half) last night, and I had some reservations.

He thinks that I’m just irritated because now I have more questions than answers, (which is probably true,) but also, something about this new trailer troubles me. So, thought I’d write-up a quick blog post to puzzle it out.

I was disappointed when I learned a few years ago that Lucas had sold his masterpiece to Disney, because, well, Disney likes to ruin things. Like important things. By adding their own interpretation to the field. (Any fans of Boy Meets World see their Girl Meets World version? Yuck.)

But when I heard that J. J. Abrams was at the helm of the project, and all of the resources and money that Disney has, I thought okay…this movie might have a chance.

Then I saw this trailer and all of those doubts started to creep in again.

In this new trailer we finally see what we can assume are the main characters of the film : a former Storm Trooper, and a young brown-haired girl, Rey, living on what looks like Tatooine. I thought it was possibly Leia’s and Han’s daughter, but, according to this new trailer, it doesn’t really seem that way.

To be honest, I’m going to be very annoyed (I’m already annoyed) if this young woman is not in any way related to the Skywalkers. Because…I mean, come on, its STAR WARS; a lot of the main plot is centered around one big romance that ends tragically between Anakin Skywalker and Padme Amidala.

Of course, I could be reading into something that is meant to be vague on purpose – it is J.J. Abrams after all.

Anyway, the tone I got from the new trailer – so melancholy. There’s a lot of reminiscing going on (from what we’ve seen) but I hope that the film doesn’t get bogged down on what Star Wars was, and to focus on what it still is…to continue mastering a great story.

That being said, there’s got to be a balance, too. It needs to have some of that old Star Wars feel, (from the three great originals,) but also be fresh and exciting for this cinematic age. And although we love Star Wars, we hope that J.J Abrams also remembers that we love the universe of Star Wars, too, so we hope that it still feels like it’s in that galaxy far, far, away…with all the action scenes, explosions, droids, unexpectedly adorable aliens, and quotable lines, (minus the corniness)…

But, I don’t think that’s asking too much…right? 😉

Anyway, do you guys have any thoughts on the new movie? Are there things you are definitely looking forward to?

I’ve decided that I didn’t hate the new trailer, but it definitely did make me irritated because it managed to answer NONE of my questions. Hmm. Just like LOST all over again. Oh, J. J. Abrams.

Hope everyone has a great night!

 

2 thoughts on “The Force Awakens New Trailer Review and Thoughts

  1. I think Rey is definitely a relative of the Skywalker/Solo clan. Most people also think the bad guy, Kylo Ren, is her brother. I don’t mind that they’re trying to keep any of that under the rug. Actually, I’m thrilled that the trailers have been insanely NON spoilery, because I want the movie to be a surprise. I’m not really speculating a whole lot, or asking many questions, because I think it’s best to go in with no expectations at all.

    The tone does seem a little melancholy, but all those X-Wing dog fights look AMAZING and make me think that the movie still knows how to have fun. Especially when throwing BB-8 and Chewie in there. Han may be older and grimmer, but I’m sure he has a few wisecracks left in him too.

    • I was happy to see that a lot of the original cast were going to be in the film…I wonder if Luke is supposed to be the guy we see in the trailer with R2? Who knows…I think I was mostly annoyed because I can’t wait until December, lol. Am very excited about this new film! But I am also glad, too, that there weren’t too many spoilers in the trailer, I hate it when films do that, and it would have been a shame if they did that to this one. You’re right, though. Its best to go into it without expectations – usually when I do that, I find myself enjoying something more. And usually I’m surprised at how great something is. 🙂

Let me know what you think!

