The Freelance Pursuit: Greeting Card Writing?

I’ve spent the afternoon/evening holed up in my office with the fan on (the fan is a definite must, it’s 90 degrees out there, people!) trying to decide on what’s the best way to make some side-money writing.

wpid-img_20150907_200046383_hdr.jpgI had a friend at work give me a list of websites that I could use as some options to look at. Not all of them are just for writers. They are as follows:

www.workersonboard.com

www.ratracerebellion.com

www.elance.com

www.guru.com

www.wahm.com

www.freelancer.com

While freelancer, guru, and elance, are all geared towards writers or freelancers, wahm (work at home moms), ratracerellion, and workersonboard, present numerous ideas for that someone who wants to make a little extra money from home, either by writing, or other ventures.

I guess I should go right ahead and thank that person who suggested these to me, because I sure did find a lot of options out there. I guess I didn’t know what I was expecting, really, but writing for greeting cards was not one of them.

It makes sense: someone has to write those often overly-sappy hallmark cards, and those humorous often off-color you’re-getting-too-old-for-this-many-candles cards…so, why not me?

Like everything, it seems like a difficult business to break into, but according to some articles that I’ve read about the business, it says that it’s the one that pays off the most.

Anyway, here are some greeting card/slogan websites that I was able to check out more thoroughly:

www.ephemera-inc.com

www.oatmealstudios.com

If you’re a bit off-color yourself, and like to write quirky, sometimes dirty and sarcastic humorous stuff, then http://www.ephemera-inc.com is for you.

Now, what do I do?

I guess I never thought of writing for greeting cards. Who knows, maybe the next time you buy a birthday card, it’ll be from me!

Orr…not. Especially if I don’t get to working. Any of you also have the youtube videos suck you in?

Ah, the life of a procrastinator.

Hope everyone had a great Labor Day!

2 thoughts on “The Freelance Pursuit: Greeting Card Writing?

Let me know what you think!

