Poem: “Up and Up”

man-flying-in-a-hot-air-balloon

Grandma always wanted to ride

on a hot air balloon

 

this summer at a festival

I bought a key chain

 

colors of the rainbow

colors so obnoxious

so bright and clown-like

 

But every time I drive

or look down at my keys

unlocking the apartment door

I am reminded of a dream

 

Grandma was too sick

she couldn’t go

balloons go too high

and the air was too cold

but not this time

 

Balloons go up and up

they are bucket list dreams

and that’s my goal

the desire

to not let life pass me by

 

always be on that balloon

that’s going somewhere

 

One thought on “Poem: “Up and Up”

  1. Pingback: Happy Mother’s Day, Grandma…I Miss You | The Writer's Hub

Let me know what you think!

