Poem: “Nature Walk”

Been a rough weekend. Here’s some scribbles I did the other day while out walking.

wpid-img_20150506_165940655.jpg

Nature Walk

I eagerly pull my head phones out of my ears,

I can hear the peepers; the birds chirping, a squirrel

scurry up a tree

But what’s the point of nature,

if the sounds of traffic drown out the joys of life

Here’s a tree, there’s a tree

they might as well be plastic trees

and rubber plants

and there’s the way of life

of technology,

of treasures

of things that are real, but are long forgotten.

When I walk in the woods,

it reminds me of my childhood.

The crickets are the sounds I fell asleep to

at night

the birds chirping a mid-afternoon melody

are the sounds of the trees clapping back and forth

and me laying on my quilt in the sunshine,

falling asleep to the music of silence

of trees chattering and chattering

and always getting the last word.

Another picture of the ducks at my work. They amuse me so much! Just chilling out, the best of friends.

Another random picture of the ducks at my work. They amuse me so much! Just chilling out, the best of friends.

Let me know what you think!

