St Patty’s Day Poem: “The Clover”

I wrote this poem back in the days (several years ago) when I was in a rhyming phase. I was trying to think of something to share for St. Patty’s day, and I didn’t have time to type up a quick story, and I thought this would be perfect. Clovers, green things…it works.

Happy-St-Patricks-Day-Free-Hi-Res-Wallpaper-1024x640The Clover

On his way back from a stroll one day, Charlie found the time,

To reach down and pick a clover, a clover intended to be mine.

 

This clover, it was four leafed, it was dark green and true.

Then he held it out before him and said, “I picked this here for you.

 

May this clover bring you more luck, than it has given me.

May it take you places higher, higher than the tallest tree.

 

May it give you luck and happiness, where ever you choose to go.

May it give you the courage and confidence, to let your true self show.

 

May it keep you away from harm, and protect you in the cold,

And let it represent my love for you, if I may be so bold.”

 

I stared at the leafed plant in my hands, hands that began to shake,

And the clover fluttered to the ground, to be lost in a deep green lake.

 

I cried, “I dropped it, dear, I lost it. I’ll find another for you.”

Then he said something that touched my heart, “Only love rings true.”

st-patricks-day-images-pictures

Ah, I suppose it does have a ring of corniness to it, lol. But hey, I was young. And I’m still a dreamer. And I still believe in fairy tales, and luck and love and all that good stuff. 🙂

Best of luck to us all as we go about our day!

 

 

Let me know what you think!

