Girl time, Cupcakes and a Poem by my niece, Madilyn

Two peas in a pod!

Two peas in a pod!

I had a great weekend this time around. I watched my niece, Madilyn, who is eight, and (like myself) is growing into a book lover and writer.

It’s great for me to watch her creativity grow, to hear the books that she likes to read, to listen to her ideas; to watch (somewhat enviously) her imagination come alive. She told me after inhaling one of her new but used books: “I love how books smell.” And I think I fell in love with her just a little bit more.

We had a grand ol’ time. She showed me some of her video games: Zoo Tycoon and got me hooked on Lego Lord of the Rings. We had a pizza party, ate chips, made cup cakes and put streaks of pink in each others hair.

Now, mind you, I am 26, but I had the best time that I have had in a while. Maybe it’s because my niece and I are so much alike; we are both sensitive, both dramatic and creative. Maybe it’s because I haven’t had a girl’s day in a while…maybe I’ll always be a child at heart, but it’s amazing how the simplest things sometimes end up being the memories that last a lifetime.

Our funfetti cupcakes. Maddie did most of the decorating.

Our funfetti cupcakes. Maddie did most of the decorating.

Anyway, after the dying of hair, we also managed to watch The Book of Life, and How to Train your Dragon 2. Suffice to say, we had a busy time of it, and were ready for bed around 11pm.

My heart is still all warm and fuzzy recalling the great weekend I had, and it is amazing how much she inspires me. She asked me what I had my office for, (where she slept Saturday night on my futon). I told her it was because I write. And she asked me where my books were. Have you printed them out? What stories do you write?

I had to think a bit, as I mumbled: No, they’re not done. They are on my computer. They aren’t printed…aren’t published yet…

I guess this means I better get crackin’! What have I been doing all my life? Not writing, that’s what! I also thinks this means I should focus on writing more children’s stories. So I can have something more to share.

Anyway, I also wanted to share the poem that she managed to create on my fridge with the magnetic poetry I have. I thought it was cute. Here goes:

wpid-img_20150316_192629108.jpgI’ll call it: “Imagination”

ice and air            men    women   sacred [scared]

to blush                we like blue magic

not sad               boys               cat must

breath [breathe]  perfume     and in our

young green eyes      brilliant

joy

 

I love that last part: Young, green, eyes and brilliant joy. Yes, that pretty much describes my weekend. I got back just a little bit of my childhood on Saturday; that free, unaltered joy, which consists of pure happiness and utter bliss. There’s really no other feeling in the world. I loved it.

I hope everyone had a somewhat decent Monday; Happy Writing everyone!

Let me know what you think!

