Poetry: “Ode to Snow”

I think I wrote this when I was about eighteen. This was back when I still used AIM, (AOL Instant Messenger,) and instead of writing out a profile for myself, I would post poetry like the nerd that I was. 😉 (Mind you, this was also back when I thought I could rhyme, too.) But my position then about snow hasn’t really changed much over the years…

Here’s something silly for you on this cold, snowy January day:

wpid-img_20141127_134249159.jpgODE TO SNOW

 

Snow, you dreadful thing,

why do you fall the way you do?

 

Tell me, Snow, you white, white Snow,

as pale, pale white as the moon,

 

Would you rather melt in spring time,

then get crushed on the roadside too?

 

You foolish Snow, so stupidly white,

that glitters in the sun,

 

Why do you have to come out and ruin

all the spring time/winter fun?

 

Why fall from gray-white clouds

only to sting and melt on my nose?

 

While the dignified rain just drips,

and does not look like dandruff on my clothes.

 

Snow, you bitter chill,

I’m afraid I’ve had enough,

 

of damp, damp wetness, icy chills,

and all that cold-wet stuff.

 

So Snow, if you would be so kind,

please gather where I can see…

 

And if by mistake, I take out a few flakes…

well then, whoops, don’t blame me.

 

Hope everyone is keeping warm in this new year! Happy NEW YEAR everyone!

Let me know what you think!

