Pancake Saturday!

I think I have a secret desire in life to make every pancake known to man…case in point: today’s breakfast!

pancakesChocolate chip and apple pancakes. (I was going to make orange pancakes, but I didn’t have any orange juice. They sound fantastic though!)

I like making them small…they look so cute on the plate.

apple pancakesAnd they are wonderful when paired with any side…Like breakfast sausage, of course.

Today is a lazy Saturday, and I thought I’d take a moment and enjoy it. I don’t get them very often, but when I do, they are glorious. 🙂

I like the sleepy feel of a Saturday morning, when you can shut off your alarm and sleep in. When the sunshine creeps its way into the window, promising freedom…either relaxation in the unexpected warmth, or adventures in the bright sunshine, in the air and the blue sky, of a moment where you can look up and bask in the empty spaces.

A lot happens on a Saturday, or not at all. It’s your choice to do what you will. Maybe shopping, maybe baking…maybe a day trip to the mountains or ocean (if there is one close by). Maybe its the day where you buy antiques…you are forever looking for that pepper shaker that matches the salt shaker that your grandma has.

Maybe its the only day you get to spend time with your kids; so you take them to the park, buy them fast food and send them back to Mom with stinky stains on their shirts and smiles on their faces.

Maybe its a project day: time to get that painting done on the house that you haven’t had time for. Change the oil in your car.

If you are an artist, maybe its the day you paint, or a writer: the day you work on crafting that story that needs a lot of work. Maybe you write a letter to a friend you haven’t seen in a while.

Or maybe, you have to work. And another day is your “Saturday.”

But whatever the case, Saturday is like a gift…something that brings us joy the moment the day unwraps it for us.

I like to spend mine with good food, company and my projects. I have some laundry to get done, to finish painting some picture frames and a story that needs a plot. Today is already a busy day, and I don’t intend to waste it.

How do you like to spend your Saturday, or days off? 🙂

Let me know what you think!

