Guardians of the Galaxy review: More please!

I went and saw Guardians of the Galaxy last night and wanted to write-up a quick review. And yes, I am listening to Blue Swede’s “Hooked on a feeling” while I type this up. 😛

Beware, spoilers ahead!

guardians-galaxy-movie-previewI have read so many mixed reviews of this movie. One’s calling it a space opera, with too much going on, going as far as comparing it to Star Wars. Another review says it’s a great film with a lot of heart, bringing back the true hero in cinema. Me? My thought when the movie was done: I want to see this again!

But there is one thing I want to make clear: it’s not Star Wars. It’s not even close to Star Wars! It’s in its own universe in fact! Like ACTUAL universe, with galaxies and planets and characters and spaceships that don’t exist in Star Wars, so who in their right mind would think that it would even serve as a comparison?

That being said…just because it’s not Star Wars, doesn’t mean it’s not a great film! I love this movie…its going up on my top list of all time favorites and I’m pretty sure after it comes out on blue ray (which I’m sure, sadly, will be a billion years from now) it will be watched over and over again like I do with Lord of the Rings, Princess Bride, Star Wars, and Harry Potter. It beat out Inception and even some beloved and cherished chick flicks of mine. That means something.

Why I love this movie so much?

  • The characters.

Abducted as a child, Peter Quill, grows up to be a thief. When he decides to double-cross the person who raised him, he meets other thieves and bandits with their own agenda. A genetically altered raccoon named Rocket, and his friend, Groot, a plant humanoid who can sprout flowers from his hands, among other things. Then there’s Gamora, a fierce assassin who’s been turned into a weapon by the evil Thanos…and then there’s Drax, the Destroyer, who wants to kill Gamora’s father, oh, and the guy also working for him, a very creepy, Ronan. Drax also has a problem understanding metaphors. (But more on that later.)

Together, this hodge-podge group find themselves trying to defend the galaxy, to save everyone from the very weapon they stole in the first place. I can see why Marvel had some misgivings about this story, but it works. The chemistry between the characters is fantastic and it is their differences that make them unique and interesting.

  • It’s a movie with a lot of heart.

Rocket and Groot are best friends, and the interactions between them are at the heart of it all. I love seeing characters with vast differences coming together as a central unit, defeating all odds together. Both Groot and Rocket are computer generated, but it is so easy to forget that, when you see the emotion playing across their faces.

Most of the time, you’ll find yourself laughing…it is a comedy after all. But there are also tender, heartfelt moments that grip you amongst the laughter. It makes you remember that these characters want you to know they matter, and that there is more to them then who they used to be and they show that through friendship, loyalty and sacrifice. There’s a lot of good here.

  • It ties in with the other Marvel films

Remember that weird, creepy white-haired guy at the end of the second Thor movie? The one they gave the aether to? He’s here. Taneleer Tivan, or The collector, he’s also called. He’s the buyer Gamora had for the orb. But there’s also Thanos, the big bad that’s supposed to crop up in the third Avengers movie, or so I heard.

I also read how people are surprised that Marvel is becoming a brand, like Disney or Pixar with a certain expectation when it comes to their films. I can see why. They do it so well! To me its fantastic the way all these films are beginning to tie into one another…it feels like a sequel that never ends.

  • We’ve got great action and fight scenes

It’s incredible and great to watch. And there’s lot of color. The world outside seemed kind of dull to me after watching this film. Very cinematic.

  • It’s funny

The banter between the characters in itself is amusing, but there are also jokes and dancing, oh, and music. And there’s some amusing scenes when Drax has some trouble understanding metaphors. It’s amusing, but English majors especially will appreciate the humor – I know I did.

  • The music

We finally get to understand why we’ve heard Blue Swede’s “Hooked on a feeling” over and over in the trailers. Peter Quill listens to a cassette tape over and over with hits from the 80s and earlier eras on them, a gift from his mother…and really the only thing he has to remember her by. There’s also “Spirit in the Sky” by Norman Greenbaum, and “Cherry Bomb” by The Runaways, and “Ain’t No Mountain High Enough,” just to name a few. The soundtrack in this movie is really what makes it different from the other Marvel films. It certainly reflects the uniqueness of the characters themselves.

And overall, this is just a very great film. Perhaps, it is my obsession with a great story and characters, but I’m pretty sure I fell in love with this movie last night.

And will probably be seeing it more than once in theaters! (Because I’m a nerd like that.) 😛

What did you guys think of the film?

2 thoughts on “Guardians of the Galaxy review: More please!

  1. I like how your enthusiasm for this movie comes across in your review! One of my favorite things about GotG is the banter and oddball chemistry of the characters. I love that this movie just wanted to have as much fun as possible. I want to see this again too! I actually got distracted in the first scene in the hospital and when he got abducted because a whole bunch of people where standing in the row in front me because other people where sitting in their spot.

    • Hey thanks for reading! 🙂 its funny you mention the first scene, I actually missed a bit of the dialogue too because I started choking on popcorn lol. It wasn’t cool. I think that I was just so excited that the previews were finally done and the movie was starting that I forgot to swallow. :p I was very excited about this movie and I think its great…I think what gets me is that it has a lot of heart and that in turn makes me love the characters even more. Were you going to write up a review on it as well?

Let me know what you think!

