Ah, Summer…

Well, May passed by in a blur! Can’t believe that it is June already! But, as I am a June baby (my birthday is next week, June 7th! Yeah, baby!) I love that Summer is just about here and all the things that come with it!

I love the heat, the lightning bugs, the sound of a screen door slamming shut; the hum and croak of bull frogs in the pond next to my house, the crickets singing in the grass.

100_0833

Pine Cradle lake. A camping trip a few years ago…

Ah, Summer

I love that it is the time of flip-flops and tank tops and shorts and sun-glasses. A time where sweaty socks are forgotten and tucked in the back of an underwear drawer somewhere, and you can slap, slap, slap, your way through cold, air-conditioned super markets. There’s something satisfying about the feel of feet slapping across a smooth, solid floor…

I love the food of summer time: hotdogs, and jello, and pasta salads; pies and watermelon, strawberry short-cake, ice cream, s’mores and iced tea.

And with all these delicious foods come the outings: picnics, cookouts and camping and trips next to the lake…

My girls! ❤

Nights out on the town with girlfriends in the sweltering summer heat, drinking rum-and-coke, and moving with a freedom that doesn’t happen in winter. Your body is like liquid and moves where you want it to, finally released from the burden of bulky winter clothes…a summer breeze that caresses bare shoulders, like a soft blanket…

Everything is life, life, life and the world is humming, waiting to be explored!

Summer is exciting! I love it when everything comes back to life again and myself with it! Although I have been rather busy with work lately, I look forward to the time spent with friends and the mini-vacations that we have planned! (Still need to post updates on past trips!) Exciting days ahead! 🙂

Went to the Pennsylvania Grand Canyon with one of my girlfriends memorial day weekend! :) So Beautiful!

Went to the Pennsylvania Grand Canyon with one of my girlfriends memorial day weekend! 🙂 So Beautiful!

My goal is to post here at least once a month, although I certainly want to post more with pictures of trips and adventures and such! Hope everyone is enjoying the warmer weather! Got any exciting plans?

Happy Summer y’all!

2 thoughts on “Ah, Summer…

  1. I love this post, Amanda! You certainly captured the essence of summer and brought back memories for me. I’m in a bit of a holding pattern because I’ve been busy, but I told Rich I’m ready to get out on the motorcycle. Summer will officially start for me on that hot day. 🙂

    • Aw, thank you so much Maddie for stopping by! I LOVE summer, (if you couldn’t tell, haha) everything wonderful always happens to me in the Summer. I love the heat and am always healthier when it is warmer; I think I need to move somewhere where it is warm all year long!

      Glad you loved my post – I was very proud of it. Its been awhile since I’ve written anything and I am trying to get back in the swing of things, so I tried to show what I was feeling as much as possible.

Let me know what you think!

