The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey – An unexpected Pleasure!

Went and saw the The Hobbit last night and thought I’d post a quick review! There are no spoilers here, except about how fantastic I think this film is, so feel free to read on and get a peek at the music in this gorgeous movie!

When I heard that Peter Jackson was going to make The Hobbit in a 3-part film, I had my doubts. It wasn’t until I re-read the book, until I realized there is so much that happens behind the scenes that J. R. R. Tolkien never expands upon. How creative of Peter Jackson and company to bring a world to life that no one ever has ever seen before!

I was most excited when I read that some of the same people from the Lord of the Rings were going to be involved with the project: Howard Shore, the composer; screenwriter and co-producer, Philippa Boyens, and screenwriter and producer, Fran Walsh, who both had a hand in some great writing in the Fellowship of the Ring. I knew that as long as these fantastic people, (including Peter Jackson, of course!) were involved with the project, they couldn’t go wrong and boy, did they deliver!

The casting was excellent, the characterization of all 13 dwarfs was superb and so creative, they all have their own look and personality, it was done quite fantastically; the scenery was larger than life and the music; oh, the music!

There’s really nothing else I can say except to let you listen. I am such a sap sometimes, and there were a few moments in this film where my eyes teared up just because the music was so beautiful and awe-inspiring. I absolutely loved it!

What do you guys think?

Let me know what you think!

