Dawn’s Rising – December Update

I took a few candle light pictures when we had the power out back when hurricane sandy blew through. I guess is how they used to do it, huh. I guess all that is missing is a fountain pen.

I took a few candlelight pictures when we had the power out back when hurricane sandy blew through. I guess this is how they used to do it, huh? All that is missing is a fountain pen.

When I launched this blog at the end of the summer, I had a few ideas in mind:

I was unemployed, I had nothing better to do and I needed to find a strong writing community. I wanted to finish my first “crappy” novel and I wanted to have fun doing it. And I wanted to find other TV lovers out there who felt just as passionate about imaginary characters that I do.

***I found that writing community and have been encouraged by the go-get-’em attitudes that other struggling artists like myself have out there. And I’ve been able to keep up with my favorite TV show – a happy shout out to all my fellow Once Upon a Time fans out there!

But where does this leave me on the progress of my “crappy” novel?

Me being silly!

Me being silly!

I got a new job, (recently) full-time, with mediocre pay, that is more or less at a call center, where I take chats and try to sell things to people online for a company. While the job is easy and the people are friendly, it is definitely something I don’t see myself doing for a long period of time; and while I am struggling with the fact that I am so bored already with this job, it has, inadvertently, put me back on track with the writing of my novel…

Awhile ago, I even created a lovely banner up above^ to help motivate myself and set a deadline, but well, life kicked in; I had to start this new job to pay the bills, and boys distracted me again. (Guys really are a kryptonite when it comes to my writing, gah!) And…I only got about 1/4 of my crappy novel written.

But, never fear! I am back to writing it again. I don’t have a dead-line as of yet. I think the important thing is to push myself to write, even if it is just for my own pure entertainment. And on that note, I wanted to give you guys a preview, even though it is probably too early for a preview, but I wanted to prove that my novel-in-progress Dawn’s Rising does exist and I intend to finish it!

excerpt from Dawn’s Rising – “The Hub”dawns rising cover page

          “The Hub” turned out to be a restaurant. A bar and grill in the middle of nowhere, on a flat, dry rock where everything looked the color gray, even the low building they were walking towards was an ash grey color with a white-capped roof. There was a blue neon sign that said “The Hub,” in cursive lettering, hanging crooked on a single, dark door. It flickered on and off in the darkness, although the stars above them were casting their own light. Angel had never seen so many stars in her lifetime and the sky felt closer to her than she had ever felt it before. She felt like she could suffocate in it, breath in its purple blueness and cough out a super nova.

            Except for the building and a few cacti next to and behind it, The Hub was the only thing…anywhere. That and a gray-purple dirt, that stretched on for miles and miles and what might have been the ridge of low, hard purple mountains in the distance. 

            “It’s beautiful, isn’t it?” said Clint, next to her. He must have seen her awe-eyed expression as she walked in the dry, cracked dirt next to him. The boy with the dreads, who had introduced himself as Ian was walking just ahead of them, and Angel could see the faint outline of Neil and Chase several feet in front of him.

            “Where are we?” she breathed.

            She watched Clint’s clean, handsome face as he appeared to think for a bit. He was short and broad-shouldered. “Center of the Universe probably…half-way between this and that,” he said.

            “Were not on earth anymore?”

            “No,” he laughed. “But don’t worry…you’ll be alright.”

            She listened to the sound of their feet kicking up dust in the darkness. She was still in a dream. She must be. “Why are we here?”

            “Boss likes this place because of the people he can find here. It’s…like an information hotspot.”

            “The Hub,” said Angel. “Like the center of Universe?”

            “Something like that,” he said.

            “So…we’re on another planet?”

            “Not exactly. More like a gray rock floating in the middle of nowhere…like a Meteor. At least…that’s what Neil told me one time,” he said.

            “It’s…nice,” she said, because she couldn’t think of anything else to say. Her heart was pounding. How could they breathe? She was trying to understand. “Who are we looking for tonight?” she said, faintly.

            Clint shrugged his wide shoulders. “Dunno. Anyone he can find I would guess.”

            “A demon,” said Niel loudly right in front of them, the small gold ring in his ear glinting in the darkness. Angel and Clint both flinched, slightly. “We’re looking for a demon.” They were so busy talking, that they didn’t realize they were right in front of the building and the three other guys were standing there, waiting.

            “But don’t worry, we won’t let him get you,” said Niel. Chase just winked down at her, laughter crinkling at the corner of his eyes.

Well, what’d ya think? Thoughts below if you got ’em! 😉

3 thoughts on “Dawn’s Rising – December Update

  1. I love it! Love the description, love the premise, and the dialogue and emotions are good. Will that be your actual cover? Because that is pretty great, too. And quit calling your novel crappy; you sound like me – apologizing for your work. I’m trying to stop doing that, and you have to, too. 😉 … And your silly picture is cute. 🙂

    • haha, thanks. But it IS crappy writing! 😉 I’ve never finished a novel before…but hmm, there is a first for everything. But maybe you’re right, it probably doesn’t help the motivation any! I’m glad you like the little bit I have so far. I really have to get back to working on it – the characters need a bit of fleshing out still. Thanks for being awesome and commenting! 🙂

      • Oh, and yeah – that will be my actual cover for it. I took some photos I had and Photoshopped them together. I thought it turned out kind of neat. 🙂

Let me know what you think!

