Once Upon A Time Review 12/2/12 – Emma is the True Queen of Hearts

Wow! Much to be said about the fall finale of Once, and while Storybrooke’s fairytale characters got their happily ever afters, did they really?

Spoilers Ahead, (and soon to be rough waters I’m sure!) Arrr!

Photo credit: ABC.

I said it once before and I’ll say it again, Regina has to be my favorite character in this TV show, and she has also made her way into my heart as being one of the best characters ever written on television. It is amazing to me when you are able to write a character that is so well-rounded that one minute she is evil and you are hating her, and the next you feel bad for heartbreak. THAT right there is the mark of good character building. THAT right there is the mark of good writing. I cannot be more in love with this character, ah, thank you writers!

In ‘Queen of Hearts,’ we learn that Regina’s mother, Cora, was banished to Wonderland by Regina, where she becomes the Queen of Hearts. I mentioned before that the Never World reminded me of the Queen of Hearts, but I had no idea how close I actually was, haha. She really is the new big bad!

While Snow and company try to figure out a way to get out of their predicament, Emma surmises that she, the savior, is really a pawn in Rumpelstiltskin’s plan to break the curse. He admits later to getting her where she needed to be, when he needed it, but her strength is all her own. A fact that Cora learns when she tries to rip out Emma’s heart and finds that she can’t. Could it be that Emma really is the savior after all? Planned or not?

Henry is able to convince Regina to stop Rumpelstiltskin’s curse to let Emma and Snow through the porthole unharmed, and while she gained Henry’s respect and appreciation, what did she really gain? She, who loves her son, a son that doesn’t trust her. This is where I feel sorry for Regina. It really is quite heartbreaking!

Meanwhile, Mulan and Aurora are left in Enchanted Forest world, where they’ve decided to set out on a quest to get their Philips’ soul back. And while Snow, and Emma have finally been reunited with their families…Hook and Cora find another way to enter Storybrooke…soon to be rough waters ahead! I can’t wait!

Observations:

  • Hook’s incredible likability. While he’s scheming and doing things for himself, we are reminded that he is also not a complete monster. He has layers this handsome Hook. šŸ˜‰
  • I think it was good to leave Mulan and Aurora where they are, as there is a lot that we still don’t know about them. This also gives us more of a chance to see more fairytale characters that we haven’t met yet. (I seriously hope the little mermaid is one of them!).
  • Regina really has lost everything, will it be so easy for Cora to manipulate her back into being our Evil Queen? And what happened between Cora and Rumpelstiltskin?

Ah, much to be learned and viewed and I just can’t wait!

What did you guys think of the episode? šŸ™‚

4 thoughts on “Once Upon A Time Review 12/2/12 – Emma is the True Queen of Hearts

  1. I loved this episode, and I especially love the addition of Hook to the cast. I hope we’ll get to see him on Once Upon A Time again next season. I know he’s evil and all, but he’s no Regina or Gold. He actually has a sense of honor. Even though he’s a villan (he’ll always have the heart of a pirate), I can still see lots of windows for him to eventually be a better guy.

    • I agree, this Hook has layers and I think he is a great addition to the excellent characters that the show has so far…I seriously hope he sticks around for awhile. (I think Emma likes him more than she cares to admit.) He is such a charmer! I suppose that’s the pirate in him…but he really does have some good in him, for sure. Thanks for stopping by! šŸ™‚

  2. I’m not a huge fan of Cora and Hook going to Storybrooke. I feel like it would be much more entertaining if they all went back home since everything is way more exciting in Fairytale Land. Or to Neverland finally. I want some Peter Pan/Hook/Lost Boys/Pirates action!

    But hope gully Regina doesn’t become evil again, that’d be way too easy.

    And where’s August?!

    • I don’t think they will be in Storybrooke very long, and if they are…I don’t think it’ll be very long before one or more of them are going to be back to Fairytale land again. I, personally, loved seeing Emma there because it meant such a growth for her character and for everyone elses as well. I do agree that the ending of the last episode was a tad predictable…Peter Pan would be awesome addition of course! I want to see the little mermaid soo bad! And yeah, the absence of August is a mystery…but I’m not sure there is room for an August plot twist quite yet. So much going on in this TV show and yet not enough at the same time! I love it. Thanks for stopping by! šŸ™‚

Let me know what you think!

